Maurice Abravanel Visiting Distinguished
Composers Series

John Adams, Samuel Adler, Milton Babbitt, Harrison Birtwistle, William Bolcom, Martin Boykan, John Corigliano, Mario Davidovsky, Lou Harrison, Jonathan Harvey, Lee Hyla, Louis Karchin, Leon Kirchner, Paul Lansky, Fred Lerdahl, Steven Mackey, Donald Martino, Tristan Murail, Thea Musgrave, Wayne Peterson, Shulamit Ran, Steve Reich, Roger Reynolds, Frederic Rzewski, Gunther Schuller, Joseph Schwantner, Harvey Sollberger, AugustaRead Thomas, George Tsontakis, Charles Wuorinen, Yehudi Wyner, Chen Yi, Pamela Z

Maurice Abravanel Visiting Distinguished Composers for 2018-2019

Anna Weesner

Monday, September 23, 2019

Anna Weesner (b. Iowa City, Iowa, May 13, 1965) is the recipient of a 2009 Guggenheim Fellowship and a 2008 award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Anna Weesner has received many other awards, including a 2006 Award for Excellence in the Arts by the Virginia Center and a Pew Fellowship in the Arts (2003). Her music has been recorded on CRI and Albany Records.

Weesner's music has been performed by leading ensembles and soloists, including the American Composers Orchestra, the St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble, Metamorphosen, Dawn Upshaw, Richard Goode, Gilbert Kalish, Judith Kellock, Mary Nessinger, Jeanne Golan, Scott Kluksdahl, the Cassatt Quartet, the Cypress Quartet, Network for New Music, Ensemble X, Counter)induction, and Orchestra 2001. Her orchestral music has been featured in readings by the Indianapolis Symphony and the American Composers Orchestra. She has been commissioned by Open End, violist Melia Watras, Network for New Music, the MATA festival, the Cypress Quartet, Dawn Upshaw, Sequitur and Orchestra 2001, among others. She currently lives in Philadelphia, where she is Associate Professor at the University of Pennsylvania.